The first phase of California’s two-phase, minimum wage increase is now less than one month from taking effect. Last fall, California Governor Jerry Brown signed into law AB 10, which amended the California Labor Code to provide for an increase in the minimum wage. The first phase of the minimum wage increase takes effect July 1, 2014, and will increase the mandated minimum wage from $8.00 to $9.00 per hour. The second phase of the minimum wage increase will take effect on January 1, 2016, and will increase the mandated minimum wage from $9.00 to $10.00 per hour. Employment posters which will help you remain compliant can be ordered from the Fullerton Chamber of Commerce.
A bill which will further increase the minimum wage has passed the California State Senate and has moved to the Assembly. SB 935 (Leno; D- San Francisco) would increase employer costs by increasing the minimum wage to $13 by 2017 and then increased thereafter according to the Consumer Price Index. Take action and let the Assembly know to vote NO on this Job Killer!