July 1 Marks Minimum Wage Hike and More New Laws
Several laws that were signed last year will take effect on July 1, including the upcoming minimum wage increase. Employers should take note of the laws below and revise existing business practices accordingly.
Minimum Wage – On July 1, 2014, California’s minimum wage increases to $9 per hour from the existing minimum wage of $8 per hour. This is the first increase to the state minimum wage since January 1, 2008. The minimum wage will increase a second time to $10 per hour on January 1, 2016.
Paid Family Leave Benefits – Effective July 1, SB 770 expands Paid Family Leave (PFL) wage-replacement benefits for employees to include benefits for time taken off to care for a seriously ill grandparent, grandchild, sibling or parent-in-law. PFL does not create the right to a leave of absence, but provides California workers with some financial compensation/wage replacement during a qualifying absence.
Background Checks – Effective July 1, AB 218 prohibits a state or local agency from asking an applicant to disclose information regarding a criminal conviction until after the agency determines the applicant meets minimum employment qualifications. There are specified exceptions, such as when a criminal history …read more
Source: Fullerton Chamber of Commerce